To blog or not to blog


Today I’m exploring my prejudice of blogs. I hate crashing Shakespeare’s brilliance and cheapening it, but I have to say the, ” To be or not to be,” line parallels my point. I believed, from the outside, that blogging was vain. It’s the ultimate, “Here I am. You ought to see fascinating, wonderful me and all I do.” I was annoyed by the thought.

Now, I also knew, however subconsciously, that blogging in such a fashion must also be fearlessly generous, and that that requires humility and selflessness. To plaster photos of oneself, detail every meal, convey one’s inner most thoughts is altruistic.

It is true I had to muster some gumption to commence my own blog, but my intent is to share in an intellectual dialogue and to cultivate my philosophies of life, specifically with regards to writing and raising teens. I did not realize exposure to my soul was requisite.

Can’t get away from it, though. ‘Tis the nature of the beast. You can’t give without gettin’ and vice versa.

Shakespeare, I’ll dare to imagine, explored the purpose of anything, yes, anything, and not just Hamlet, being when he wrote those six beautiful words. To be or not to be…in other words, why is it here now? Should I grasp it by the collarbone and pull it to close to my heart or thrust it vehemently away?

And, too, Shakespeare seems to ponder the value of the thing, or the value of the choice in action towards the thing, and especially the conflict of deciding the choice in action towards the thing.

This is heavy stuff for as simple thing as a blog.

I just don’t see it as simple. It’s also life, like Hamlet’s.

I wonder how Shakespeare felt listening to Richard Burbage, allegedly the first actor to have the privilege to play Hamlet (http://www.shakespeare-online.com/plays/hamlet/hamletresources.html), as he commenced his oh-so-private-and-personal-turned-public soliloquy. Did Shakespeare feel those word? Was it a betrayal of his deepest turmoil?

I’d like to imagine him as the tortured writer. Maybe he wasn’t. Maybe those words were means to food and drink. Maybe he would have blogged about rewrites, posted pictures of his quills and ink spills, defended his former acting accomplishments in light of the unsettling criticism, laughed online at the ridiculousness of writing for writing’s sake. I don’t know. Maybe.

Or would he have despised the notion of poring over minutia? Perhaps, he might have felt it was vain? Perhaps the following lines from Hamlet are truer to his senses: “Give me that man that is not passion’s slave, and I will wear him In my heart’s core, ay, in my heart of heart, As I do thee.” Yes. It seems Shakespeare might have wished to strip himself of passion and focus on temperance.

Ha! Shakespeare wishing to be tepid. He would have blogged! And it would have been HEIGH-HO, WELL SAID, GOOD AS THE BEST!!!

2 thoughts on “To blog or not to blog

  1. Deep contemplations here… Shakespeare would be pleased! To write is to expose one’s inner world for all to see – to choose to live out loud and to be without apology. So to you and to all who write, for whatever reason, I say “Right on!”

    ~ Ben

Leave a Reply

