Decisions


I know the teenage brain is not yet fully developed. At least, I know that’s what the scientists tell me and who am I to argue since I’m an English major? I also tend to believe it because my teenagers make radically stupid decisions at times.

Take last night. Pitch black. I’m driving teenager three home from the first day on the job late, after dark. It’s dark dark. On a fairly busy road I drive past teenager two running without reflective gear or lights or a brain. That last one is my jaded opinion.

This may not seem earth-shattering to many of you, but it’s ludicrous to mom.

What did I do?

Locked the doors to the house so upon his return he’d have to have communication with me.

I know the teenager thinks they are invincible. This one also thinks he is invisible. He knew I would be driving down that road. He knew the dangers. He knew there’d be consequences. He did it anyway.

There are too many duhs in that scenario to begin.

Thought I’d share a little of the mother frustration. I should apologize for that. Maybe you can get a chuckle out of the crazy things mine do. Maybe you can offer suggestions.

I sit here and wonder how creatures like this turn around and build magnificent structures and cure diseases. HOW IS THAT POSSIBLE?

Of course, some shovel manure.

8 thoughts on “Decisions

  1. Just the other day, our two youngest kids were discussing the Resident Teenager (their brother)… Eight-year-old Elena Grace commented, “I’ve always thought teenagers are kind of… weird, and stupid.” Eleven-year-old “Encyclopedia” Christian answered, “Well, technically they pretty much have a hole in their brain, because the frontal lobe doesn’t develop until you’re twenty-one. So… yeah.”

    From the mouths of babes…

  2. Yes, teenagers think they are immortal–and they want to prove you wrong about the dangers in life applying to them as well. They always think they are the exception. Very sneaky, the way they push that little internal button in Mom that thinks that teenage is an exceptional human being! Time to fess up, Mom! Anyway, I have raised two. Both are now super wonderful, successful, adults–and I have two wonderful grandchildren that we all secretly think walk on water most days! so there! The ever present cycle, right? (So very glad you have decided to follow my blog! Great having you with us on our critterly journey!)

  3. funny 🙂
    your descriptions…
    when my mum talks about how my brothers do this and that
    i just say “your children after all” – the irony…
    🙂

  4. Some things are best not known to you. Mine are all grown but I am just now learning about some of the mischief they got into. it’s better that you learn about that later. They do grow up and if you have loved them through that time they will make you proud!

  5. I have two, both in their early twenties. One is leaning toward magnificent structures; the other, manure. Both grew in the same soil two years apart, so go figure. Magnificent Structures is still living at home because of college and the economy. Manure is still living at home because, well,…manure… … … … At every stage of their lives, I thought that was “the worst” stage. So far, the twenties is, by far(!), the worst of the worst. ~Old enough to do anything, but still not old enough to know better…(or care).~ I now understand where gray hair comes from. War and worry fill my days and nights. Oh…,the nights…

    A poem for you:

    At six they break the cookie jar
    Sixteen, they break the family car
    and, after that,
    They just break your heart.
    _____________________________

    I’ll trade places with you in a heart-beat. Every stage of the past that I thought was “the worst” now seems like “the good old days”… It causes me to wonder if I’ll someday see even this stage as a part of the good old days….??? :/

    I guess my point (other than blog-bombing your comments section…oy…sorry for that) is to say “Enjoy “the good old days” while you’re still in them. 🙂

    I do very much enjoy your writing. Thanks for the smiles (and memories). 🙂

  6. sometimes those that shovel manure are the happiest.
    the teen years are to say the least, challenging.
    my boys are in their twenties and now I do not have much say – not a great place to be – but most of the time they make good decisions – most, not all

Leave a Reply

